Testimonials
 
  • Best place to stay in SF. Super clean and super stylish, the place is one of those rare gems where the actual thing looks even better than the photos. The staff was really helpful. We enjoyed our stay and we’ll definitely stay there again!”

     
    Benedikt, Vienna, Austria — 12th September, 2014
  • “This was an incredible treat! The suite was gorgeous. The bed and pillows were like sleeping on a cloud. So comfortable. Thank you so much! We didn’t meet Jesse but Brian was an excellent host, thank you! I will be sure to recommend :D”

     
    Talia, Lafayette, California, United States — 8th September, 2014
  • My husband and I were blown away by the accommodations at this lovely historic building. The pictures really do not do this place justice. The suite was very large and we loved the balcony. We also felt very secure that our car was behind locked gates at night. Very comfortable bed and spacious marble bathroom… We will absolutely stay here again the next time we are in San Francisco!!”

     
    Jordan-Anne, US — 6th September, 2014
  • The hospitality was amazing! The room was gorgeous as was the entire facility. The staff helped us find great restaurants and activities. We bought some wine and they gave us an opener and glasses so we could enjoy it! It’s the little things that make a stay so great.”

     
    Emily, Kansas City, Missouri, United States — 2nd September, 2014
  • The Payne Mansion Hotel was awesome! The room was amazing (and in my opinion, probably worth 3x what we paid). It’s exactly what you would hope it would be from the pictures, and then some. The staff was friendly and extremely accommodating… They went so far as to pick up some bubble bath per our special request. Also, there are a lot of cool things to do right there in the neighborhood. Overall- highly, HIGHLY, recommend. Stay here. I’d give 6 stars if it was possible.”

     
    Spencer, Santa Clara, California, United States — 30th August, 2014
  • “What a find! A beautifully refurbished, very San Francisco-style building in a central location. Excellent shower and bathroom. Brian was very friendly and helpful. They always had a plate of cookies out for guests and offered to help carry my luggage. It was convenient to have the paid parking option. I could not have asked for more.”

     
    Sonja , San Francisco, California, United States — 28th August, 2014
  • “The space was very spacious and staff was super friendly and helpful!”

     
    Mina, Providence, Rhode Island, United States — 25th August, 2014
  • It was a really nice hotel. Staff were great. Bed was so comfortable and had amazing facilities. In a really good location too.”

     
    Mark, United States — 24th August, 2014
  • Was given a pleasant surprise when my room was upgraded for the first night of my stay! Great location in a very charming building. Space was huge and furnishing was done in a classy way! Would definitely recommend the place!

     
    Esther , Singapore — 24th August, 2014
  • “The property was quite exceptional especially given its location, friendliness of the staff, cleanliness and quality of finishing. I highly recommend this property to any future travelers to San Francisco.”

     
    Charles, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia — 23rd August, 2014
  • “Great comfortable space with lots of light, a giant claw-foot tub, and a fabulous deck that overlooks the city. Everyone was very attentive and went the extra mile to take good care of us.”

     
    Kyle, — 23rd August, 2014
  • “Overall great experience and stay. Room was big and had a lot of space. Bed was comfy and very clean. Enjoyed a last minute getaway.”

     
    Daniel, San Jose, California, United States — 22nd August, 2014
  • “Stay. Here. It’s spectacular and beautiful and Jessie got back to me within seconds! Awesome.”

     
    Sarah, Modesto, California, United States — 22nd August, 2014
  • “Best recommendations! We were satisfied with everything. Great price, luxury, friendly staff and perfect location. All 4 of us would like to stay here again the day we will return to San Francisco. Extra plus for the parking spots behind the hotel.”

     
    Philip, Stockholm — 21st August, 2014
  • “Awesome! The best location to explore the city. The hotel staff was really helpful with giving tips and advice on where to eat. The room was amazing. We were with 3 people and still the room was so big you could easily book it for 4. The pull out bed that they had for my friend was a good size and really comfortable. Communication with Jesse was also really good. All in all definitely recommend it and we will be back soon!”

     
    Romee, Chicago, Illinois, United States — 21st August, 2014
  • “Everything was accurately described. A pleasant walk to the city center , or convenient public transportation. A variety of food options around.”

     
    Maya, Princeton, New Jersey, United States — 20th August, 2014
  • “Great accommodation and very friendly. Would definitely stay again.”

     
    Peter, — 20th August, 2014
  • “It was a really cool experience. Place was spacious and luxurious. Front desk staff were wonderful. Would do it again!!!”

     
    Thadias, Montecito, California, United States — 18th August, 2014
  • “The hotel and staff there is first rate, and they will help insure that you are well informed for any of your traveling desires. The people we met at the front desk were Very personable and easy to talk to. I would definitely have another great stay here!”

     
    Joe , West Covina, California, United States — 17th August, 2014
  • “People at reception desk were friendly and helpful. The place was comfortable and cosy with huge shower and modern facilities. The hotel was surrounded with big variety of bars and cafes.”

     
    Alexey , Moscow, Russia — 15th August, 2014
  • “The listing was everything I expected. Clean room with wonderful staff. Amazing view from the balcony, and a very, very comfy bed. Very modern look to the place, and just about all the amenities one would need. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.”

     
    Ed, Chicago, Illinois, United States — 12th August, 2014
  • “Staying at the Payne Hotel was a great experience. Jesse was very accommodating via email, as he let us leave our luggage at the desk since we arrived earlier than check-in time. The on site attendants were wonderful! We had many questions and they responded promptly with suggestions or looked for needed information. The hotel itself was quiet, clean, and spacious. It was a nice treat to find robes in the armoire too! The neighborhood was central enough for exploring, as well as close to the muni locations. We would definitely recommend staying here!”

     
    Beverly, Bourbonnais, Illinois, United States — 14th August, 2014
  • High end hotel luxury room at a fraction of the price of most hotels in San Francisco. The room was spacious and well decorated. My finance asked me for a weekend together since we have been so busy lately, and this is where I took her. She was impressed and really enjoyed herself. We had dinner close by and visited a couple bars in the area. Staff was welcoming and friendly. I would definitely return.”  

     
    Paul, San Rafael, California, United States — 19th July, 2014
  • This place is a home run! It was my first time in San Francisco and I couldn’t have been happier with this booking. Walking distance to the BART (train), lots of shops and restaurants nearby and a convenient store across the street that stays open late (comes in handy if you are getting back late.) Sasha and the staff were great and made checking in/out a breeze. The room and bathroom are AMAZING .. such a value. Will definitely book again my next time the Bay!”   

     
    Kenneth, Louisville, Kentucky, United States — 9th July, 2014
  • Room 402 at the Payne Hotel was great. Just as shown in the pictures. The 4th floor balcony was a wonderful addition, and the weather was perfect enough to leave the door open at most all times. Bathrooms were very well done, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Hotel personnel were able to make good recommendations for breakfast, lunch, and drinks. It was a welcome change from the big box, expensive hotels we found elsewhere. Coffee was the only extra amenity we used, as the boutique hotel doesn’t offer a restaurant or bar – no worries with all they have in San Francisco though. Would recommend to friends.”   

     
    Jake, Houston, Texas, United States — 10th July, 2014
  • A little out of the way, but well worth the extra walk. The Payne Mansion room itself borders on lavish – marble and tile bathroom with both tub and separate shower, marble floor in sitting room and bedroom, comfortable spacious bed. Very nice and quiet as well.”   

     
    Elisabeth, San Diego, California, United States — 13th July, 2014
  • The Payne Mansion was really nice after the big renovation they did. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Also the hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to local bars and restaurants. I would rate our overall experience an A+ and would recommend this boutique hotel to anybody.”   

     
    Bruno, Concord, Ohio, United States — 12th July, 2014
  • The listing was exquisite. The hosts, Sasha, and his colleagues, were extremely kind and accommodating. Perfect location for visiting this beautiful city. We felt very spoiled here! In and out parking for only $30 kept stress levels down, too!”   

     
    Stacy, Orange County, California — 11th July, 2014
  • Beautiful room!! Amazing location – front desk was incredibly helpful and kind. Bathrooms are spectacular, beds were so comfortable. Loved our short visit!”   

     
    Ilsa, Los Angeles, California, United States — 9th July, 2014
  • The hotel & room were very nice! The room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Really nice luxury room! Wireless Internet was a tad spotty, but overall worked well.”   

     
    Alex, Austin, Texas, United States — 7th July, 2014
  • Great stay. Just opened and they did so many things right.”  

     
    William, New York, New York, United States — 1st July, 2014
  • This place was a true find. Everything was in great shape and new. My wife and son both used the awesome tub and absolutely loved it! The TV was at least 48-52 inch flatscreen which was perfect for such a large room. Even though we really didn’t need it, this room had 1 full bathroom, 1 half bathroom and in addition it had the great tub and a sink beside it as well. I guess if you wanted to entertain and keep people out of the full bathroom, this would be the perfect room! All the windows had blinds plus window tint which made sleeping in a breeze! The room also had amazing AC which is hard to find in SF and we like it COLD at night. The fridge had a few waters and sodas for purchase, but other than that, there was plenty of room to store your own food and beverages…. Overall this room truly had the feel of a 5 star hotel room minus the service which we knew it didn’t have. The area itself was fine and had everything you need within walking distance including a BevMo 1 block away and a late night corner store directly across the street with a great little old couple that ran it. Of course there were the normal amount of SF homeless folks around but that is to be expected and never felt threatened.”

     
    Peter, Laguna Niguel, California, United States — 4th July, 2014
  • We had a great stay at the Payne Mansion hotel. The room had everything we needed and was very comfortable and quiet. I felt very much at home staying there. The service was good, the location was perfect and all in all I was very happy. I would recommend anyone stay here.

     
    Kateland, Chicago, Illinois, United States — 2nd July, 2014
  • The room is absolutely fantastic. High ceilings, a comfy bed, beautiful bathroom. Staff is always on hand to open the door. The location is easy enough as well. Buses run two blocks away to Fisherman’s Wharf as well as the Mission. Highly recommend this hotel.”

     
    Chinelo, San Francisco, California, United States · — 20th July, 2014
  • Payne Mansion is a great place. We loved our suite, spacious, comfy, even an outdoor sitting space to chill, watch the sky and clouds and city. Much better than a closed-in room in a union square hotel. Nice being in a neighborhood where locals live. Will definitely come again. Thank you, Jesse, Josh and Ben and friendly staff.

     
    Tom, Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States — 2nd July, 2014
  • Not knowing anything about San Francisco I booked my 7 night stay at the Payne Mansion based on photos and early reviews since it had just recently opened. All I can say is if you are visiting San Francisco you should definitely try to stay here. Sasha and everyone was super friendly and professional, my room was wonderful and bed felt almost as if I was sleeping in my own bed at home. The hotel is not in the center of downtown (Union Square) but close enough that I could walk or take the trolley which has a stop conveniently just a couple blocks away. For anyone not familiar with the area the hotel is located on Sutter and Franklin which is 1 block from Van Ness in a great quiet neighborhood. Since they are so new the restaurant area has not opened yet so don’t expect room service or the ability to eat breakfast in your hotel before you head out in the mornings.

     
    Julio, Miami, Florida, United States — 21st July, 2014
  • We enjoyed our brief stay. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean, well lit and airy. We could either open the doors and wander out to the patio, or turn on the AC. If you are in the neighborhood, try dinner at the Baker and Banker! The parking out back was also very handy, especially in San Francisco”  

     
    Mark, Los Altos Hills, California, United States — 6th July, 2014
  • Everything was just as described, the room and entire hotel was beautiful. We will definitely come back.”  

     
    Ryan, United States — 5th July, 2014
  • Very nice reception when we arrived. I can’t recall her name (Melissa). Very professional and helpful. Room was clean and the bed comfortable. A small roll-away was brought in but wasn’t big enough for our two girls so we needed to use the couch. Other than that, no complaints. Very quiet for being in the middle of SF.”  

     
    Patrick, Sacramento, California, United States — 10th July, 2014
  • We had a great experience at the Payne Mansion Hotel. It was exactly what we were looking for and we would recommend it to friends visiting San Francisco. The front desk staff, particularly Melissa, was very helpful and informative. The listing on AirBnB, for the most part, accurately represented the room and the property, which is not a traditional AirBnB nor a traditional hotel. We were a little disappointed that the second level of the property (which is featured in some pictures on the AirBnB listing) is actually roped off while a restaurant/event space is in the works. However, this didn’t detract from our experience at all. The location was perfect for us – less than a mile from the hotel where we attended a wedding. We could walk to Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, and the piers (although it’s a bit of a hilly trek in any direction.) A family with kids looking to do a lot of walking and sightseeing might prefer something a little more centrally-located. But, we were able to cab or Uber anywhere we wanted to go. The space is very luxurious, and we would definitely stay here again!”  

     
    Claire, Raleigh, North Carolina, United States — 14th July, 2014
  • Jesse (and the entire staff at the Payne Mansion hotel) were friendly, responsive, and accommodating. The room, decor, bathroom, and amenities were all first-class! What a gem!”   

     
    Ather, Hamden, Connecticut — 23rd July, 2014
  • I love spending time at the Payne Mansion hotel. After a long trip i really could use a warm bath and good bed. The service was wonderful. And what you see, is what you get and even more.”   

     

     
    Ayu, Amsterdam, Netherlands — 3rd August, 2014